Thomas Sand
Ernst & Young LLP

Tom is a Partner in the Baltimore office of Ernst & Young. He serves in the Assurance practice with an emphasis on the healthcare industry. Tom joined the board in 2010 and became involved in the Finance Committee and ultimately became Treasurer and provided critical leadership for the Board’s fiscal governance responsibilities. Following an active role on the Executive Director Transition and Search Committee, Tom served as Vice-President. In addition to his board responsibilities, Tom has actively participated with the Arc through Art in the Round, our annual golf tournament and our efforts in Annapolis during DD day. Tom lives in Bel Air with his wife, Stephanie and their two children.



Vice President
Erik P. Daly
PNC Institutional Asset Management

Gregory J. Hogan
SC&H Group

Jill M. Vocci, O.D.
Pediatric Eye Care of Maryland

Immediate Past President
Joseph P. Ward, Esq.
Miles & Stockbridge, P.C.



Seth Burdine
The Arc Baltimore / Self-Advocate

Marianne Bishoff
Alban CAT

Larry Burley, Jr.

Melissa Dabrowski

Gail Garland
Allegis Group

Jigisha C. Hanel
University of Maryland Capital Region Health

Donald Himelfarb
Retired Executive

J. Patrick Miles
T. Rowe Price

Alicia Morgan-Cooper, M.D.
Village Pediatrics

Alyssa Thorn, Esq.
Project HEAL, Kennedy Krieger Institute

Crystal Stephens
The Arc Baltimore / Self-advocate

William Stocker
Student at Stevenson University / Self-advocate

Rodney Toulson
Restorative Counseling Services / Parent Advocate

Tracy Voelker

Matthew Yancisin
University of Maryland Medical Systems Health Plan


Directors Emeritus

Gordon S. Bonham, Ph.D.
Bonham Research

Robert Davison
The Ridge Ruxton School (Retired)

Matthew J. Dillon
McCormick & Co., Inc. (Retired)

Christine Ferciot
Family Advocate

Eric L. Gross
Masonic Villages at Sewickley

Jerome G. Katz ***
Towne & Country Furniture (Retired)

Gilbert F. Kennedy, III
Colombo Bank

James A. List, Esq.
The Law Offices of James A. List

Frances Macsherry
Hunts School (Retired)

Janet Mayer ***
Parent Advocate

Carla Murphy, Esq.
Duane Morris

Edmond B. Nolley, Jr
FIS, Inc.

James P. O’Conor
O’Conor, Piper & Flynn (Retired)

Sean O’Conor
O’Conor and Mooney Realtors

William H. Oliver
Retired CPA

Mark T. Pare’
National Government Services

Dennis F. Rasmussen
Rasmussen Group, LLC

Jeffrey Rever
University of Mayland, Baltimore / Self-advocate

James F. Rosner, Esq.
Chason, Rosner, Leary & Marshall, LLC

Pat Rosner
Family Advocate

Mary E. Scott
Baltimore County Public Schools

Thomas Sessomes

Stephen J. Sfekas, Esq.
Associate Judge, Baltimore City Circuit Court

Donna Sills, Esq.
Greenberg Gibbons Commercial

Eugene P. Smith, Esq. ***
Weinberg & Green, Esq. (Retired)

Richard Spooner***
Bendix Corp. (Retired)

Earnest Woodard
University of Maryland / Self-advocate

Matthew G. Yancisin
University of Maryland Health Partners

Michael J. Young
SC&H Group

*** Deceased


Past Presidents

1950       Captain William F. Goldsmith
1953       Herbert L. Wynne
1954       Elizabeth Haynie
1956       Charles E. Abel
1959       Leon Pierson, Esq.
1960       Philander Ries
1961       George H. Hoffman
1963       Margaret Ann Black Ulle
1965       Clarence W. Schultz
1967       Sybil Devay Schartz
1969       Harry R. Shriver
1971       Richard M. Spooner
1973       Alexander Hamburger
1975       George W. Ellis
1977       Alyce D. Reiter
1979       Philip W. Chase
1981       Matthew J. Dillon
1983       Eugene P. Smith, Esq.
1984       Nicholas VanSant
1985       Christine Ferciot
1987       Calhoun Bond, Esq.
1989       Frances Macsherry
1991       James F. Rosner, Esq.
1994       Joan M. Avent
1996       Donna M. Sills, Esq.
1998       Michael J. Young
2000       William H. Oliver
2002       Edmond B. Nolley, Jr.
2004       Matthew G. Yancisin
2006       Gilbert F. Kennedy III
2008       Eric L. Gross
2009       Mark T. Pare
2011       James A. List
2013       Carla N. Murphy
2015       Neil MacDonald
2017       Joseph P. Ward, Esq.